20th Scientific Meeting of

Asian Academy of Orofacial Pain and Temporomandibular Disorders

25th - 31st of October 2021, Republic of Korea

“New Insight into Orofacial Pain & Temporomandibular Disorders”
Hosted by


History of the Asian Academy of Orofacial Pain and Temporomandibular Disorders (AAOT)

The Asian Academy of Craniomandibular Disorders (AACMD) was founded in 1988 by dentists from Japan, Korea, Taiwan, and Singapore who specialized in temporomandibular disorders and orofacial pain. Hong Kong was the fifth member, joining the AACMD at its inception. Since the first scientific meeting held in Japan in 1989, 19 meetings have been held over the last 30 years. These meetings were held annually from 1989 to 1993 and then every other year between 1995 and 2015. Until 2015, the sister academies from Japan, Korea, and Taiwan took turns hosting the biennial meetings. In 2015, sister academies from Indonesia and the Philippines joined and the scientific meetings are being held annually again since then. Another sister academy from Thailand joined in 2018.
It can be anticipated that the AAOT will become more active in the future, as it has progressively grown since new sister academies from Indonesia, the Philippines, and Thailand have joined the academy. At the 18th scientific meeting in Taipei, the name of the academy was changed to the Asian Academy of Orofacial Pain and Temporomandibular Disorders (AAOT). Korea will hold the 20th Scientific Meeting as an on-line meeting in 2021.

Confess Year Host Country AAOT President Terms
1989, 1st Osaka, Japan Shigemu Ishibashi (Japan0 1988-1989
1990, 2nd Seoul, Korea Sung Woo Lee (Korea) 1989-1990
1991, 3rd Singapore Peter Tay (Singapore) 1990-1991
1992, 4th Tokyo, Japan Yoshinori Kobayashi (Japan) 1991-1992
1993, 5th Taipei, Taiwan Yuh-Yuan Shiau (Taiwan) 1992-1993
1995, 6th Seoul, Korea Kwang-Nam Kim (Korea) 1993-1995
1997, 7th Sendai, Japan Takao Maruyama (Japan) 1995-1997
1999, 8th Taipei, Taiwan Sun-Long Chou (Taiwan) 1997-1999
2001, 9th Busan, Korea Sung-Chang Chung (Korea) 1999-2001
2003, 10th Sendai, Japan Makoto Watanabe (Japan) 2002-2003
2005, 11th Taipei, Taiwan Juo-Sung Wang (Taiwan) 2004-2005
2007, 12th Seoul, Korea Myung-Yun Ko (Korea) 2005-2007
2010, 13th Fukuoka, Japan Keiichi Sasaki (Japan) 2007-2010
2012, 14th Taipei, Taiwan Ming-Lun Hsu (Taiwan) 2010-2012
2015, 15th Daegu, Korea Jae-Kap Choi (Korea) 2012-2015
2016, 16th Yokohama, Japan Koichi Wajima (Japan) 2015-2017
2017, 17th Jakarta, Indonesia Koichi Wajima (Japan) 2015-2017
2018, 18th Taipei, Taiwan Yunn-Jy Chen (Taiwan) 2017-2019
2019, 19th Manila, Philippines Yunn-Jy Chen (Taiwan) 2017-2019
2021, 20th Online, Korea Youn-Joong Kim (Korea) 2019-2021
History of International Congress of Orofacial Pain and Temporomandibular Disorders (ICOT)

Five sister academies from North America, Europe, Asia, Australia, and South America take turns holding the International Congress on Orofacial Pain and Temporomandibular Disorders (ICOT) every 4 years. The first ICOT meeting was held in Chicago, USA, in 1992, and the second was in Paris, France, hosted by the European Academy. The third meeting was in Seoul, Korea, hosted by the AACMD in 2000. More than 600 people attended the meeting from all over the world and around 250 participants were from outside the country. The fourth ICOT was in Sydney, Australia, and the fifth meeting was in Salvador, Brazil, in 2009. The AAOP started the second round of ICOT in Las Vegas in 2014. The seventh ICOT was held in London, UK, in 2018.

  • 오스템
  • 메가젠